Archives Committee

Stewart Factor
Mark Stacy
Oral Histories Project

The MDS Oral Histories Project aims to capture personal accounts of advances in the field of Movement Disorders.

The Archives Committee invites you to read and listen to our interviews, and submit subjects for future consideration.

The views expressed in this interview are solely those of the interviewee and are recounted here for historical purposes. These views do not necessarily reflect the views of the International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society.

View Individual Interviews

Browse entire collection of Oral History interviews.

Suggest a subject or topic for future interviews

Past International Congresses


MDS Staff Liaison: Kateri Martin

Committee Members

Kalyan Bhattacharyya
Shilpa Chitnis
Mark Hallett
Nobutaka Hattori
Donald Higgins

Andrew Lees
Ali Rajput
Raymond Rosales
Michael Samuel





Committee Purpose:
To preserve and log important documents and other materials pertaining to the history and activities of the Society.

History of MDS:

The Movement Disorder Society was founded in 1985 on the initiative of Professors Stanley Fahn and C. David Marsden, whose leadership and vision guided the expansion of clinical expertise and research in this field. This not-for-profit organization merged in 1992 with the International Medical Society for Motor Disturbances. Publication of the journal Movement Disorders began in 1986, and the first International Congress was held in 1990.

On September 3, 2013, The Movement Disorder Society officially changed its name to the International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society, in order to recognize the growing importance of Parkinson’s disease care and research within the field of Movement Disorders. Read more about the Society here.

Hamburg, 1985

Photo credit: Cathy Jankovic

Founding Leaders, from left to right: Eduardo Tolosa, Stanley Fahn
(seated behind), Andrew Lees, Joseph Jankovic, C. David Marsden.
Hamburg, Germany, September 1985.

Past MDS Presidents
2009-2011 - Philip Thompson, Australia
2007-2009 - Anthony Lang, Canada
2005-2006 - Andrew Lees, UK
2003-2004 - C. Warren Olanow, USA
2001-2002 - Werner Poewe, Austria
1999-2000 - Mark Hallett, USA
1997-1998 - Eduardo Tolosa, Spain
1995-1996 - Joseph Jankovic, USA
1991-1994 - C. David Marsden, UK
1988-1991 - Stanley Fahn, USA

Current Movement Disorders Journal Editors
Jose Obeso and C. Warren Olanow

Past Movement Disorders Journal Editors
Günther Deuschl and Christopher Goetz
Andrew Lees and Anthony Lang
David Marsden and Stanley Fahn