European Section
MDS-ES Summer School for Young Neurologists

2013 European Summer School Course Directors

Prof. Kailash Bhatia is a Professor of Clinical Neurology at University College London. He obtained his medical degree from the University of Bombay and received further training in neurogenetics and movement disorders with the late Anita Harding and David Marsden. He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and corresponding Fellow of the American Academy of Neurology and ANA. He is currently a member of the MDS International Executive Committee and the MDS Congress Scientific Planning Committee.

Prof. Werner Poewe is a Professor of Neurology and Director of the Department of Neurology at Innsbruck Medical University in Innsbruck. He completed his residency in Clinical Neurology and Psychiatry at the University of Innsbruck where he then became a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Neurology. He also served as Professor of Neurology and Acting Director of the Department of Neurology at the Virchow Hospital of the Free University of Berlin. He is a past President of the Movement Disorder Society and is the current Chair of the MDS European Section.

Prof. Niall Quinn is an Emeritus Professor of Clinical Neurology at the University College London as well as an Honorary Consultant Neurologist for the National Hospital in Queen Square, London. He received his medical degree from Cambridge University with additional training at King's College Hospital and the Salpêtrière Hospital in Paris. He is the former MDS Secretary and former Chair of the MDS European Section. Prof. Quinn received the MDS Honorary Membership Award in 2006.