Skip to Content


MDS makes every effort to publish accurate information on the website. "Google Translate" is provided as a free tool for visitors to read content in one's native language. Translations are not guaranteed to be 100% accurate. Neither MDS nor its employees assume liability for erroneous translations of website content.

International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society
Main Content

MDS Elections 2021

Submit Proxy Ballot for 2021 Elections

Submit Proxy


Slate of 2021 Nominees 

The MDS Nominating Committees are pleased to present the slate of 2021 Nominees for the MDS Leadership positions. The positions include the Officers and International Executive Committee (IEC) as well as the Regional Section Officers and Executive Committees. The Nominating Committees sought to prepare diverse slates that are poised to work well as a team and bring forward their individual expertise to advance MDS and provide the best experience for our membership. Learn more about MDS’s commitment to Diversity and Inclusion here.

Please click on the links below to read the full slates with candidate biographies and vision statements. 

MDS Officers and International Executive Committee

MDS-Africa Officers and Executive Committee 

MDS-AOS Officers and Executive Committee

MDS-ES Officers and Executive Committee

MDS-PAS Officers and Executive Committee


To view descriptions of the positions, please click on the following links: 

MDS Leadership Positions

MDS-Africa Leadership Positions

MDS-AOS Leadership Positions

MDS-ES Leadership Positions

MDS-PAS Leadership Positions

Nominating Committee Rosters

Open AllClose All
  Central Nominating Committee

Cynthia Comella (Chair)
Susan Fox
Oscar Gershanik
Christopher Goetz
Beomseok (BJ) Jeon
Christine Klein
Janis Miyasaki
Werner Poewe
Raymond Rosales
Pille Taba

  MDS-Africa Nominating Committee

The African Section will formally begin at the International Congress in 2021. In order to select the Executive Committee members, the MDS Officers and incoming African Section Officers formed the African Section Nominating Committee.

  MDS-AOS Nominating Committee

Beomseok Jeon (Chair) 
Tim Anderson 
Shivam Om Mittal 
Pramod Pal 
Raymond Rosales 
Ryosuke Takahashi 

  MDS-ES Nominating Committee

Werner Poewe (Chair) 
Marina de Koning-Tijssen 
Joaquim Ferreira 
Elena Moro 
Anette Schrag

  MDS-PAS Nominating Committee

Francisco Cardoso (Chair) 
Henrique B. Ferraz 
Christopher Goetz 
Connie Marras 
Maria Cecilia Peralta 
Caroline M. Tanner

Nominating Timeline 

  1. Candidate Profile Submissions for Central MDS Positions due: August 24, 2020 

  1. Candidate Profile Submissions for Regional Section Positions due: October 30, 2020 

  1. Nomination Committee Deliberations: September 2020 - March 2021 

  1. Slate of Nominees given to Officers and IEC for Ratification: March 2021 

  1. Slate of Nominees shared with Membership: May 1, 2021 

  1. Opportunity for additional Nominees from Members: May 1 – July 1, 2021 

  1. Final ballot shared with Members: July 15, 2021 

  1. Proxy ballots due: September 10, 2021 

  2. Proxy vote results shared during the MDS Business Meeting: September 18 

  3. New Officers and IEC Members begin term: September 23, 2021 

We use cookies to give you the best possible experience with our website. These cookies are also used to ensure we show you content that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies to improve your user experience. You can click the cookie settings link on our website to change your cookie settings at any time. Note: The MDS site uses related multiple domains, including and This cookie policy only covers the primary and domain. Please refer to the MDS Privacy Policy for information on how to configure cookies for all other domains on the MDS site.
Cookie PolicyPrivacy Notice