Movement Disorders Archives & Oral History Videos

Stewart Factor





Stewart Factor, Chair

Mark Stacy





Mark Stacy, Co-Chair

MDS Staff Liaison: Kateri Martin

Committee Purpose
To preserve and log important documents and other materials pertaining to the history and activities of the Society.

Committee Members

Kalyan Bhattacharyya
Shilpa Chitnis
Mark Hallett
Nobutaka Hattori
Donald Higgins
Andrew Lees
Ali Rajput
Raymond Rosales
Michael Samuel


History of MDSL to R: Founding leaders Eduardo Tolosa, Stanley Fahn (seated behind), Andrew Lees, Joseph Jankovic, C. David Marsden. Hamburg, Germany, September 1985. Photo credit: Cathy Jankovic

The Movement Disorder Society was founded in 1985 on the initiative of Professors Stanley Fahn and C. David Marsden, whose leadership and vision guided the expansion of clinical expertise and research in this field.

This not-for-profit organization merged in 1992 with the International Medical Society for Motor Disturbances. Publication of the journal Movement Disorders began in 1986, and the first International Congress was held in 1990.

On September 3, 2013, The Movement Disorder Society officially changed its name to the International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society, in order to recognize the growing importance of Parkinson’s disease care and research within the field of Movement Disorders.


Past MDS Presidents

2011-2013 - Günther Deuschl, Germany
2009-2011 - Philip Thompson, Australia
2007-2009 - Anthony Lang, Canada
2005-2006 - Andrew Lees, UK
2003-2004 - C. Warren Olanow, USA
2001-2002 - Werner Poewe, Austria
1999-2000 - Mark Hallett, USA
1997-1998 - Eduardo Tolosa, Spain
1995-1996 - Joseph Jankovic, USA
1991-1994 - C. David Marsden, UK
1988-1991 - Stanley Fahn, USA

Current Movement Disorders Journal Editors

Jose Obeso and C. Warren Olanow

Past Movement Disorders Journal Editors

Günther Deuschl and Christopher Goetz
Andrew Lees and Anthony Lang
David Marsden and Stanley Fahn

Oral Histories Project

The MDS Oral Histories Project aims to capture personal accounts of advances in the field of Movement Disorders.

The Archives Committee invites you to read and listen to our interviews, and submit subjects for future consideration.

The views expressed in this interview are solely those of the interviewee and are recounted here for historical purposes. These views do not necessarily reflect the views of the International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society.

Video Interviews

    Yves Agid
    Alim Benabid
    Reiner Benecke
    Alfredo Berardelli
    Roger Duvoisin
    Stanley Fahn
    Christopher Goetz
    Mark Hallett (PDF)
    John Hardy
    Oleh Hornykiewicz (PDF)
    Joseph Jankovic
    Peter Jenner
    Anthony Lang
    Andrew Lees
    Yoshikuni Mizuno
    Richard Morimoto
    John Morris
    C. Warren Olanow
    Werner Poewe
    Ali Rajput
    Masaya Segawa
    Ira Shoulson
    Gerald Stern