Asian & Oceanian Section

Welcome from the Chair

Asian Oceanian Section

Nobutaka HattoriNobutaka Hattori, MD, PhD
Professor and Chairman
Juntendo University School of Medicine
Tokyo, Japan


My name is Nobutaka Hattori from Juntendo University, in Tokyo, Japan, and I am the current chair of the International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society’s Asian and Oceanian Section (MDS-AOS). My research is focused on elucidating the pathogenesis of Parkinson’s disease (PD) including monogenic forms of PD. I am also interested in treatments of the disease.

Our mission is to represent and promote the MDS-AOS. We offer outreach services to the developing world, such as online support and educational programs. This support is critical due to the increasing number of Parkinson’s disease cases in Asia and Oceania, but also worldwide.

As we now move into a leadership transition in the MDS-AOS, we are grateful for the work and distinguished service of our past MDS-AOS leaders. 

These are:

  • Past-Chair: Louis Tan
  • Past-Secretary: Roongroj Bhidayasiri
  • Past-Treasurer: Yoshikazu Ugawa
  • Past-Executive Committee Members: Asha Kishore, Minh Le, Miho Murata, Barry J. Snow, Jonas Hon Ming Yeung
  • Past-Education Chair: Madhuri Behari
  • Past-Education Committee Members: Domonic Jamora, John O’Sullivan, Yih-Ru Wu

Together they have worked hard to serve the MDS-AOS over the past two years. We are grateful that many of them will continue to serve in other capacities after stepping down from their positions.

The MDS-AOS has achieved a great deal over the past two years under the leadership of Louis Tan. They have raised the overall MDS-AOS membership within MDS from 27% to 28.5% since 2013. The MDS-AOS now has approximately 1,500 members. In addition, the 4th Asian and Oceanic Parkinson’s Disease and Movements Disorders Congress (AOPMC) in 2014 was held in beautiful Pattaya, and had an attendance of over 800 people. Additionally, they have organized more than nine outreach programs (2013-present) and MDS-AOS has organized six live courses from 2014 to the present.

As we move into the second half of 2015, the new MDS-AOS leadership will continue to look for your support on two fronts:

1. To raise the membership of the MDS-AOS to constitute more than 30% of the total MDS membership. 
It is highly concerning that the number of Parkinson’s disease (PD) patients will reach 30 million worldwide by year 2030. Today, out of all countries the world over, most Asian and Oceanian nations have the fastest growing rates of PD. This issue is made more challenging by the difficulty we face in the defining the epidemiology of PD including the diagnosis and age-dependence of the disease. Therefore, MDS-AOS courses that work towards better defining the disease are necessary to combat the current increase in patients with PD. Thus, we believe that an increase in the Society’s membership will aid clinicians, researchers, and non-physician health professionals including nurses, occupational or physical therapists, clinical psychologists, dieticians, genetic counselors, social workers and lab technicians to better define PDcases and more adequately care for the patients of the disease.

2. To organize a successful 5th AOPMC meeting in Manila, Philippines, March 11-13, 2016. The various AOPMC and MDS-AOS committees are working hard to put together the plans and program for the AOPMC. We encourage every member to join us for the coming congress. Alongside this meeting will be the 11th International Symposium of the Asian and Pacific Parkinson’s Association (APPA) in the same schedule, March 12-13, 2016. This meeting is especially for patients and caregivers with PD to attend and learn more about their conditions. Moreover, each PD association from different countries has a good chance to communicate with each other beyond language and cultural barriers. 

We are looking forward to meeting you and encourage you to bring your local PD and MD communities to Manila in March 2016.

The MDS-AOS will only be able to function well with the active participation of all members. We therefore look forward to your help to:

  • encourage membership in the MDS
  • organize education programs in your countries
  • contribute new ideas and plans to develop the MDS-AOS

If you have some ideas to contribute to the MDS-AOS or need help with any of the above, please do not hesitate to contact me by e-mail, our Secretariat liaison Stephanie Dernek, or any member of the leadership for assistance.

We look forward to working with you!

With best regards,

Nobutaka Hattori