Skip to Content


MDS makes every effort to publish accurate information on the website. "Google Translate" is provided as a free tool for visitors to read content in one's native language. Translations are not guaranteed to be 100% accurate. Neither MDS nor its employees assume liability for erroneous translations of website content.

Clinical Outcome Assessment Program Committees

The COA committees oversee all aspects of the assessments program, including licensing, translation, development and training. 

Main Content

COA Program Directors and Associate Directors 

Primary Functions: Maintain relationships with other MDS Groups (Committees, Task Forces, and Study Groups), provide guidance as methodological advisors and consultants, and connect Strategic Partners. 

Directors and Associate Directors: TBD

The Program Directors and Associate Directors oversee the COA committees. 

Clinical Outcome Assessments committees:

Open AllClose All
  COA Scientific Evaluation Committee

Primary Function: 

- Develop and publish systematic reviews of rating scales utilized within the Movement Disorders community  
- Review assessment/rating scale development proposals that are submitted to the Society  
- Provide guidance on the development of new clinical assessments including, but not limited to, aspects such as design issues, pilot and validation studies, integration with other assessments, and interpretation of outcomes  
- Set standards and guidelines for the development and validation methodology of assessment tools across multiple modalities 

Committee Members: TBD 

  COA Translation Steering Committee 

Primary Function: 

- Recommend and approve non-English translations of the MDS-owned scales MDS-UPDRS, MDS-NMS, and UDysRS 
- Assist in the development of non-English translation teams, monitor translation development and oversee all aspects of the statistical analysis at each phase of development 
- Make recommendations for best practices in the translation and validation of digital tools acquired by the Society 
- Manage use of generated rating scales data owned by MDS 

Committee members: TBD 


The Translation Steering Committee oversees the Translation Committee.

  COA Translation Committee

Overseen by the COA Translation Steering Committee 

Primary Function: 

- Develop translations and validations of the MDS-owned scales MDS-UPDRS, MDS-NMS, and UDysRS, to bring wide-spread availability of the scales to non-English speakers. 
- The committee will consist of current and past local translation team leaders and statistical experts involved with the scale translation efforts 

Committee members: TBD 

  Electronic COA Committee

Primary Function: 

- Establish standards and guidelines for electronic assessment tool development in collaboration with the Scientific Evaluation Committee  
- Provide supervision and guidance for validation and implementation of electronic assessment builds  
- Advise and recommend solutions for issues related to electronic development, device, and technology use of MDS-owned assessments 

Committee members: TBD 

  COA Education and Training Committee

Primary Function: 

- Identify and prioritize the need for educational and training requirements for MDS-owned scales   
- Provide recommendations and guidelines for the development of new educational and training programs for MDS-owned assessments 
- Advise groups on the development of educational programs on assessment tools  
- Establish standards for rating scales educational and training programs 
- Maintain online and in-person training and certificate programs for MDS-owned rating scales by providing comprehensive reviews of existing training programs and providing recommendations for revisions 

Committee members: TBD

We use cookies to give you the best possible experience with our website. These cookies are also used to ensure we show you content that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies to improve your user experience. You can click the cookie settings link on our website to change your cookie settings at any time. Note: The MDS site uses related multiple domains, including and This cookie policy only covers the primary and domain. Please refer to the MDS Privacy Policy for information on how to configure cookies for all other domains on the MDS site.
Cookie PolicyPrivacy Notice